“Intellectual Conversation”

13 Sep

They were girls and they were cute.  We met them while out Friday night this weekend and after talking about what we were studying, why we chose UD, etc.  I got to talk to the one who wasn’t engaged (seriously, everyone’s engaged or married.) about other fairly normal things, like where we were from and what we thought of the school.  When we were talking about social life at UD, more specifically, what she and her friends did, she made it clear that while they’re not boring and they enjoy “having fun” that, “she really likes intellectual conversation.”

I always learn two things when a girl says this to me.  First, that she wants me to approve of her, which means she’s interested in me.  Second, I immediately question her intelligence.

Now, I know, I’m sure I’ve said a million and one times that I prefer intelligent conversation to inane small-talk.  But I’ve found that people generally think it’s cool to “be an intellectual,” almost like a fashion decision.  Furthermore, those who actually devote themselves to any serious thought usually say what it is they are interested in, rather than give the vague pronouncement that they enjoy stimulating their mind.  The telling point is that “intellectual conversation” is a special event for them.

She gave me her number and I was supposed to call her Saturday.  I was going to bed and just realized that I completely forgot.

10 Responses to ““Intellectual Conversation””

  1. DBP September 13, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    I was going to post something then decided it was horribly inappropriate and you would probably delete it. So instead I’ll call you a loser.

    Actually I can say exactly what I meant in less offensive terms:
    This is why I am Barney and you are Ted.

    Loser.

    • DBP September 15, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

      I assume your lack of a response means that I am right. Same with my post on the fantasy football smack board. I’ll adjust your score appropriately.

  2. James September 13, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    So I agree with everything you said, and you made it seem like you are not going to call this girl. Then I read your first sentence again, you are totally going to call her.

  3. CrystalSpins September 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Um… judgmental.

    Although I do agree with you that “people generally think it’s cool to “be an intellectual,” almost like a fashion decision.”

    But I have to say that assuming a person who says they enjoy “intellectual conversation” is unintelligent is like assuming that people who like to play sports are klutzy.

    And, even if ““intellectual conversation” is a special event for them” that doesn’t mean the person is less than intelligent. I may mean the people the person spends most of their time with are less than intelligent. But that might not even bee his/her fault. Consider the bell curve.

    If you’re intelligent enough to be in the top fifth percentile then talking to 95 percent of the people you meet probably won’t qualify as intellectual conversation.

    (On a more personal note — if you met her on Friday and you still haven’t called her she might not want to talk to you anymore anyway. No matter how potentially intellectual your conversations may be. If you like her you should call her soon.)

    • Cole September 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      I once heard about a job description wherein they explained, “we discriminate in no way whatsoever.” I wonder what criterion they had for hiring new employees?

      • CrystalSpins September 14, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

        I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having high personal standards for those you date, Cole. I have rather high standards myself. My point was that a woman saying that she enjoyed “intellectual conversation” doe snot mean she isn’t intelligent. She may be very highly intelligent.

  4. CrystalSpins September 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    …even if she has rampant typos and writes less than stellar final sentences in her comments on blogs.

  5. CrystalSpins October 11, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    So, did you ever call the girl to find out what her “intellectual conversations” might consist of?

    • Cole October 12, 2010 at 12:22 am #

      Nope, I’ve got a good girl story coming up though! stay tuned. Well, it’s funny. Not very exciting.

  6. CrystalSpins October 12, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Oooo…I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

