Graduate Mixer

9 Oct

Last night there was a graduate mixer in the upper floor of the dining hall, free food and beer.  While there, many things about the politics program became clear to me.  For starters, the politics students are seriously in a world unto ourselves.  At one point, near the beginning of the night, we were spread out somewhat throughout all the other grad students.  But rather quickly we found ourselves all congregated on the balcony away from everyone else. I mean, my conversations inside literally scared people away.  The first one was about Locke in relation to Aristotle.  Francis, John and I were moving at a good clip when a guy sat down, presumably to join the conversation.  I told him what we were talking about to bring him up to speed.  Within a minute he left to go get another beer and never came back.  Later, the same thing occurred when a group of us were talking about Aristotle’s characterization of Hippodamus.  I counted two people who approached, then promptly turned to another social outlet.  By the end of the night, like I said, we were all on the porch outside and long after most everyone else had left we stood there talking and drinking up the free drinks.  That, to my eyes, displays a deficiency in the other students.  It’s Friday night, you’re at a place giving you free beer and food and you left early?  Really?

All in all last night was fun and the conversations lasted quit awhile.  The usual guys came back to the apartment for poker but then, out of no-where, other people who had been at the mixer showed up.  There were probably 12 people in the apartment last night.  There was a dilemma raging inside of me because I wanted to play poker but also be a good host.  At first, they basically just sat there and glumly watched us play poker.  Being naturally quick-witted, I knew how to cheer them up and give them something to do.  I told them the Shell was still open, “go buy beer.  That’ll give you something to do.”  Instant success.  We came off as good hosts because they enjoyed themselves and received more free beer.  (please, hold your applause until the end)

Oh, I don’t really have anything else to say.  I lost at poker?  No revelatory surprise there.  Tonight I’m going to hang out with John Pascarella in Denton. Probably watching more Jane Austen, BBC style.  As a final note, I’m currently reading a book by the name of The Red and The Black; it was recommended to me along the lines that I like both Rousseau and Jane Austen.  I was told, and I affirm the characterization, that it offered the social and psychological insights of Austen but is far more manly.  So, if you have the constitution to face psychology unlaced by Austen’s niceties, then you should check it out.

I’m off to do homework; have a nice Saturday.

3 Responses to “Graduate Mixer”

  1. CrystalSpins October 9, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    I think I’d like to have a beer with you sometime. To see waht a conversation in person might be like. Of course, I don’t think I could handle a bunch of politics grad students all at once. I would quickly be left behind. (Much like I was when I spent time with a bunch of actors and musicians in NYC. No one was kind enough to slow down and define the terms, context or jargon for me and I was quickly thrust into a lonely world of my own.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  2. afb October 15, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    I like that book. It was my junior precept. I’ll be interested to see whether you do. a

    • Cole October 17, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      I loved Julien Sorel and Mme de Rénal. It’s definitely a novel I’ll read several times.

Leave a Reply

