Texting Queen

12 Oct

So, I met this girl three weeks ago.  She’s pretty, we had a good deal in common and so we hung out a couple times with our respective groups of friends.   Unfortunately, I rapidly started receiving aimless text messages.  Many many times I would get messages that wholly consisted of “Hey” and my reaction was, “what the hell am I supposed to say?”  Seriously, that text message obviously means that the person wants to have a chat through text messages.  I hate text messages.  I called her 4 times over a period of two weeks and she never picked up, but like clockwork, I would get a text message 15 minutes later “you called? what’s up?”  Texting is convenient for some things, but very few and especially not for conversation.  It’s been a week since I’ve seen her but I’ll still get those text messages, generally with no intention of hanging out but solely to text.  One night I was trying to hang out and we had been texting about it for like 15 minutes (doesn’t that just sound stupid?) but it was completely unclear what her intentions were.  So I called and complained and she called me back and then we went out with friends.  But since then it’s still text, text, text, “hey.”  It’s driving me crazy.  I haven’t answered her texts in two days; I just threw in the towel.

If your an habitual texter, you may not want to read the following but you should.  You can’t have a text conversation and be amenable to conversation, walking, watching movies or just plain company.  If you’re in a social setting don’t try to have a convo over the mobile – it’s annoying.  Furthermore, if you want to talk to someone then call them, email them, go spend time with them.  No one want’s the boring half of your brain or the absence of your presence and if they do, they’re boring.  I’m not trying to be immoderate, of course texts can be appropriate for some situations; they can also be convenient.  But please, act with prudence.  If you want to be somewhere else, go there.  If you want to get to know someone, use your words.  I can say in two minutes what half an hour of texting will accomplish.  People are far more interesting when they’re fully engaged.  Furthermore, if you miss someone’s presence but aren’t able to talk on the phone because of work, class, etc. don’t text them; miss them.  It’s good for you.

5 Responses to “Texting Queen”

  1. Marie October 12, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    “Furthermore, if you miss someone’s presence but aren’t able to talk on the phone because of work, class, etc. don’t text them; miss them. It’s good for you.”

    Love that. Too true.

    P.S. Hey

  2. Elizabeth October 12, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Haha this made me laugh out loud. Also you sound like my mom, and when I read her excerpts she agreed with me. Watch out!

  3. CrystalSpins October 13, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    One of the reasons I broke up with the last fella was all the texting. My thumbs and patience just weren’t up to it. I wish he had done what you seem to have done in this situation and just been straightforward and called me. Of course, toward the end I may not have answered the phone because I didn’t want to talk or text.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

    P.S. I think it’s funny that you posted this today because today I wrote a guest post for my friend Catherine about sexting. (I wish I could direct you straight to it, because I think I’d like your perspective, but, sadly, it won’t be posted until Oct. 26. Maybe I’ll post a link then. Maybe I’ll be too shy.)

  4. DBP October 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Some people seriously hate talking on the phone. I’m one of them. I feel really awkward and am often easily distracted when I really don’t want to be. Worst of all are those silent moments where no one is talking, maybe just lost in thought, but they make me worried I’m wasting the persons time.

    I was never as bad as this person seems to be (I can call people to make plans) and my texting is way less with Gillian than past girlfriends (probably because I feel more comfortable actually talking on the phone or because I make notes of things I want to talk to her about), but I think you’re being a bit too harsh on the medium.

    I guess my main point is that the girl is probably extremely shy about being on the phone. I do think it is rude to those around you to have giant conversations, and I fucking hate people who text while driving.

  5. Mikalee Byerman October 29, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I once had a friend who was a boy (not a boyfriend, in other words) text me at 3 a.m. He was not the sharpest tool in the shed, and I enjoyed bantering (read: toying) with him.

    “No chance you’re up?” he asked.

    My response (I was indeed up, so I wanted to see where this would go): “Nope.”

    His response: “Uh-huh.”

    Mine: “Nuh-uh.”

    This could have gone on for hours, if I had allowed.

    He’s a shiny ball guy — just like dangling a ball of foil in front of a cat, he could have batted at that text convo for hours. He amused me. 😉

Leave a Reply

