Accidental Girlfriend

23 Jan

So, my mom reads this blog and after last week’s post she called to see if I was OK. I was confused because I didn’t think I came off as sad or upset. BUT, if I know my mom, she was worried that I was upset about a girl; this realization didn’t hit me until last night. I looked at the post and realized my snippet about a girl was ambiguous. Allow me to elaborate and clarify:

I seem to have accidently acquired a girlfriend.  I really need to remedy this situation but don’t really know how to go about it! She thinks we’re together but I don’t really know how to break it to her – we’re not. We’ve hung out maybe a handful of times over the past several months, seriously, only like 7 or 8 times. She calls me once and awhile, but this does not constitute a relationship. I mean, I’ve tried (and John can attest to this) to dissuade her from liking me. The worry began last semester when I made a comment in class and a girl sitting next to John said something to the effect, “but he has a girlfriend.” (You might be wondering why that was a response to an in-class comment, but it makes some sense, you’ll have to believe me.) This little phrase, quickly relayed by John to myself, put me on alert. The next couple times I went out with this girl I noticed several problematic phrases, which indicated to me an assumed intimacy that did not exist for my part. What have I done? What do I do? – I’ve even been recruited to help her move! What’s next? Children? – Well, it’s not clear to me that she definitely thinks, “we’re together” so I’d feel weird “breaking up” with her.

“I don’t feel that this is working out”

“That what’s working out”

“Uhh, well…”

But if I don’t do anything then things will only get worse. This is quite the conundrum.

In other news I spent yesterday at the Denton library. The décor is nothing impressive, I mean, it’s not the most aesthetically appealing environment. That being said, it’s far larger and the chairs provide significantly more comfort than UD’s library chairs. You can sit in them for prolonged periods of time without developing any aches. “Cole, you drove forty-minutes for better chairs?” You’re obviously unaware of how a) awful UD’s chairs are and b) the importance of a good chair to read and study. The chairs and spacious tables, combined with my subconscious delight with the illusion that I was “doing something,” provided for hours of earnest work. I also left my computer here at the house so I wasn’t constantly attached to the master of distraction – the internet. At about seven I went out to dinner with a friend who goes to UNT, John Pascarella. Have you ever eaten a ½ lb. of Texas brisket, with a handful of white bread slices and all the fixens you could want? Oh my, I was happier than a fat kid in a candy shop, probably because I was a fat kid in a BBQ restaurant. After eating like kings we watched Inception, which far exceeded my expectations. If you haven’t seen it, I encourage you to do so.

I haven’t spoken of my classes yet, that will come soon enough. I hope your weekend goes well for you and that you’re neither a Bears nor Steelers fan.

Cheers,

Cole Simmons

4 Responses to “Accidental Girlfriend”

  1. Sadie Van Klaveren January 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I want to know where you ate BBQ.

    • Cole January 23, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      The Rudy’s in Denton, I’m guessing it’s a chain-restaurant?

  2. John P January 24, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    You neglected to mention that she texts you like 10 times a day (not exaggerating) and that you respond to those texts.

  3. CrystalSpins January 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Oh Cole…I think John just hit the nail on the head. Time for a DTR (Define the relationship). These need to be conducted at crucial intervals in any long-term relationship. Examples: I want to date you DTR, I want to date you exclusively DTR, I want to get engaged DTR, I want to get married DTR, I want to break up DTR…

    Even friends need a DTR from time to time.

    Of course if you haven’t had one yet you can not be officially considered anyone’s boyfriend. However, if you don’t want to be this lady’s boyfriend you will have to tell her at some point. Good luck. I am eager to learn what happens next.

Leave a Reply

