A Memory

31 Jan

Well, it’s not a single memory. But countless times in my childhood (supposing I have left that stage) I remember sleepovers and the common agreement, “let’s stay up all night.” My co-conspirator always fell asleep before I did. I was always left wondering why they felt the need to do so. Sleeplessness has always been a skill of mine, and I have always resented it. I can say it’s led to many read books but I can also say it has led to many absurd thoughts and resolutions. In the daylight, those thoughts are always uncovered and I am both happy and sad that they are so. Especially about the resolutions one makes. “Tomorrow I will say this” “Tomorrow I will do that” – no, Tomorrow the sun will rise as it always does and you will always be you as you always are. Not so bad really, but it makes the night a long drawn out practice in futility. A practice I have undertaken too many times. Tomorrow, I will not take a nap and will go to sleep at a normal hour.

Goodnight?

6 Responses to “A Memory”

  1. John P January 31, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I closed your door this morning. After I tucked you in. Poor baby, get your precious little sleep.

  2. Halie Simmons January 31, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I have this problem too. Ive decided to try not to make plans, plot actions, or press any “send” buttons after midnight. I find this is always a good decision

    • Cole January 31, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      Oh, definitely never communicate sleepless thoughts to other people unless they have been tested by the day. When enmeshed in such as state I would only communicate with others to clear the head – not to vindicate its thoughts!

  3. Cole January 31, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Well, I did not sleep much but when I woke up it was exceedingly nice to know that I had slept. Although tired,I am cheerful. There is still hope for the day.

  4. CrystalSpins February 8, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    My parents have always told me that nothing good happens after 10 p.m. I don’t know if I agree with them, but I recently went on a date that lasted far into the wee hours of the morning and once the sun was up the magic of the evening (and early morning) evaporated like morning dew.

    His words felt like lies and as my practical nature awoke along with the rest of my senses I felt silly for letting him carry me away. For letting him say those things.

    The night time…it’s dangerous. I wonder why that is. I suppose a couple of vodkas don’t help the situation either.

  5. Cole February 8, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    You’re parents are correct, nothing wholesome happens after 10. It seems I’ve been too harsh on the night! It is, after all, our sex’s natural ally.

Leave a Reply

