Higher Education and The Weekend

20 Feb

There is a very strange time in the life of every graduate student (any student, really) – it is called the weekend. I say this because the weekend takes form in two ways, both very different from each other.

The day is Sunday:

Way 1: “How has your weekend been” – “I’ve done nothing but write this paper, it’s not due until Friday but if I don’t get a start now I’ll be screwed.”

Way 2: “What a nice weekend. The weather is nice and I got a lot of reading done. Sunday is here, though it’s no big deal. Class will be nice and I’ve been looking forward to hearing Dr. Culp’s lecture on Hegel’s Introduction to The Philosophy of History.”

Way 1 is a state of permanent anxiety over the management of your future time. The result, for me anyway, is the complete mismanagement of my time. Way 2 is the simple recognition that your enjoy what you’re doing and hope to continue doing it for as long as possible. You manage your time really well, maybe even exercise, and somehow do far more work than was necessary.

2 Responses to “Higher Education and The Weekend”

  1. Tdog February 20, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    I’m not sure that I understand the distinction…attitude? It seems like Way 1 could be Way 2 if the paper of Way 1 was using all the books you were reading in Way 2. Or are you saying that one person in your apartment exemplifies way 1, and another exemplifies way 2? Either way, you should see if you get my greek joke that I posted on facebook.

  2. Cole February 21, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I did think about why a distinction is necessary. The distinction arises because I what topics I will choose for my papers. The papers come around and those books need some re-reading. Even the notes I take are generally insufficient. The reading I’m doing now serves as a framework for what comes later.

    I looked again at the Greek joke on Facebook and still fail. I look forward to hearing it explained.

Leave a Reply

