A Dilemma

25 Mar

Let me be honest. I don’t like this blog. For those of you who followed “Teaching Catholics” last year, you’ll know that I posted far more often and the posts were generally about everyday life and social interactions. That worked out well for me because I had no friends living near me – nobody I really knew. This situation allowed me to talk about my social interactions without any actual fear of those words finding the wrong ears. Not even in the sense that I want to say bad things about people. You, my ever intelligent reader, surely get the idea.

So, what do I do? Keep posting randomly, haphazardly, and awkwardly? Nada. Do I adopt a theme like the respectable Jake and Matt of Beer and Trembling and The Album Project? I don’t think I want to! I doubt I have the time, anyway.

There is always the advice my first (rec-league) soccer coach gave many years back: “Alright guys. We’re down 3 and they’re really beating us up. Go out there and play better.” Yes, that’s right. In his infinite wisdom, coach re-worked our entire game plan. Needless to say, I have no recollection of any other part of that game, or the season.  Obviously the only shining moment in my soccer career. There were also those times in high school when Kate would mock me from the bleachers. Yes, that was a highlight; I thought, “oh, I think this means she likes me.” And you know what? I was right. Joke’s on you Kate.

In any event, play better is my game plan.

In other news, I have been accepted to the doctoral program for politics at LSU but haven’t heard about the most important thing – money. I spent all my learning for learning’s sake dollars at St. John’s. So the future remains uncertain.

Oh, I just realized why I don’t like this blog. (My first explanation lacked reflection.) I feel stupid blogging because I essentially am telling my friends on the East Coast (or from the St. John’s) what I’m doing and what I’m thinking. For instance, I just wrote that grad school update and thought: “Well, everyone’s going to think that is stupid because I’ve already talked about it and now I’m just tooting my own horn.” But then I realized, A large number of people I know have no idea that I got into LSU, that I even applied. The point is: I have these conflicting worlds in my head, each vying to define respectable action/writing and each having different stipulations due to the different circumstances. Now that I understand that, I can approach the blog coherently.

See what I just did? I played better. Thanks coach!

Have a fun weekend,

Cole

p.s.

I’ll give you an update on funding when it does (doesn’t) occur. MOST LIKELY I will simply get in-state tuition, which will not be enough to pull me away from Dallas. In the event of this occurring, I will finish out the program here and hope for a better program somewhere else. Who knows? At the very least, it is a moral victory. Cheers.

3 Responses to “A Dilemma”

  1. Cassie J. March 25, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    DUDE!!!!!!! You applied to LSU and got in?? CONGRATS!!!! That’s really awesome! Are you graduating this May?

  2. Cole March 26, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Thanks Cassie! No, I won’t be graduating, there is another year left but if I go to LSU I will just transfer my credits. Hope all is well with you! Steve is still living it up.

  3. Cassie J. March 26, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    ah I gotcha. Well congrats anyway, it always feels good to get accepted! and you know you could always try coming back to good ‘ole VA! oh and allow me to spazz out for a moment…STEVE!!!!!!!!!!! I am so glad Steve has a good home, what a cute kitty!!! 😀 Let me know or make Joe let me know next time you’re in town, I see a Daves trip in your future!

Leave a Reply

