Pride and Prejudice

25 Apr

I woke this morning at an unusually early hour and rather than fall back asleep was immediately attacked by my own thoughts. I suffered the attack for about 40 minutes before turning to relief. I found it in that old friend Jane Austen. I find that I am someone who, in those times of need, turns to something I know rather than seek out something new. My mind is not necessarily averse to novelty but I  am able to draw so much enjoyment from previously enjoyed things. You know how it is, one notices a new thing in the text or rediscovers a favorite part of the story previously forgotten. In any event, for those of you who have not read Jane Austen and find yourselves in a mental tail-spin, I recommend it. (Jake, I would like to see a Beer and Trembling review of Jane Austen.)

Some may wonder about this development of mine, that is, I used to be a George Eliot partisan. I certainly remain a lover of Middlemarch, but I no longer think Eliot has a leg up on Austen. They are different pleasures, simply.

“Mr. Darcy walked off; and Elizabeth remained with no very cordial feeling towards him. She told the story however with great spirit among her friends; for she had a lively, playful disposition, which delighted in any thing ridiculous.”

And, another part that brought me up into happiness:

Mr. Lucas: ‘What a charming amusement for young people this is, Mr. Darcy!- There is nothing like dancing after all.- I consider it as one of the first refinements of polished societies.’

Mr. Darcy: ‘Certainly, Sir;- and it has the advantage also of being in vogue amongst the less polished societies of the world.- Every savage can dance.'”

One Response to “Pride and Prejudice”

  1. Kristin Brænne April 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

